Record Shields & Plaques


All Record Breakers receive a Certificate of Achievement (see Home Page). There are also a number of Record Shields and Plaques which may (subject to certain conditions being met) be retained by the current Record Holder until such time as the Record is broken .


For the following men’s records, plaques have been donated to the Association to be presented to the record holder and (subject to certain conditions) retained by him until such time as the record is broken.

An identical shield was purchased in 1977 as a memorial to the late Frank Greenwood from money subscribed by members and friends. It is awarded annually, at the decision of a sub-committee, to the person accomplishing the most meritorious ride whilst attempting an MRRA record, OR an official who has given long/or valuable service to the Association. Any Official, Member or Delegates may make a nomination for the sub-committee’s consideration. Nominations, with supporting details, must be made in writing to the Hon. Secretary by 30th November each year.


Holders to date have been:-

1977                 F. E. Allcoat. .

1978                 L. E. Lowe.

1979                 P. Kenny. 

1980                 Miss K. Bellingham.

1981                 L. J. DeMouilpied.

1982                 J. W. Taylor.

1983                 J. A. W. Walker.

1984                 A. G. Harper.

1985                 B. H. Field.

1986                 P. Kenny.

1987                 Mrs. J. Clements.

1988/89            Not Awarded.

1990                 L. E. Lowe.

1991                 A. Tomkins.

1992                 J. W. Hopper.

1993-2006       Not Awarded.